Policy Council

Policy Council
In accordance with our Articles of Association and as part of our ‘umbrella’ function, the Children in Wales Policy Council is a cross sector group made up of elected representatives from our membership, a number of key bodies and our Trustees. There are also some key observer groups.

The group meets three times per year to discuss priority issues that are affecting the children, young people and families sector. The Policy Council is an important group, reporting to the Trustee Board, and helps to steer our organisation by looking at joint strategy, policies and priorities.

Members of our Policy Council include:

Dr Dave Williams (Chair)

Appointed Members
ADSS (represented by Suzanne Griffiths & Gareth Jenkins)
NHS Confederation
Public Health Wales
Royal College of Paediatrics & Child Health in Wales (represented by Dr Nia John)
WLGA (represented by Stewart Blythe & Catherine Davies, WLGA)

Elected Members
Action for Children / Gweithredu dros Blant (represented by Lee Bridgeman)
NSPCC Cymru (represented by Des Mannion / Viv Laing)
Race Council Cymru (represented by Uzo Iwobi)
Play Wales (represented by Mike Greenaway)
EYST (represented by Fateha Ahmed)
CWVYS (represented by Sharon Lovell)
Millbrook Primary School (represented by Lindsey Watkins)
Caerphilly County Borough Council (represented by Gareth Jenkins)
National Adoption Service of Wales (represented by Suzanne Griffiths)
Sarah Stewart (individual member)
Hafal (represented by Euan Hails)

Trustee Board members
Bethan Webber (Home Start Cymru)
Cherrie Bija (Faith in Families)
Deborah Jones (Voices from Care Cymru)
Diane Daniel Jackie Murphy (TGP Cymru)
Jane Newby Jenny Williams (Conwy CBC)
Professor David Egan (Cardiff Metropolitan University)
Professor Patrick Thomas
Sarah Crawley (Barnardo’s Cymru)

Big Lottery Fund
Children’s Commissioner for Wales
Welsh Government
Youth Justice Board
Social Care Wales