A A English | Cymraeg

The Distinction between the Welsh Government and the National Assembly for Wales

The Government of Wales Act 2006 established the Welsh Assembly Government as a distinct entity from the National Assembly for Wales (NAfW).   This makes the situation in Wales a bit more like the situation in the other countries of the UK, with e.g. the UK Government being distinct from the UK Parliament.  Following elections to the National Assembly for Wales in May 2011 the Welsh Assembly Government became known as the Welsh Government.

Welsh Government

The Welsh Government consists of the First Minister, the Ministers and Deputy Ministers appointed under him and a Counsel General responsible for providing legal advice.  These Ministers are supported by a number of civil servants.  The Welsh Government is responsible for developing and implementing policy; exercising executive functions and making subordinate legislation.  It has taken over most of the powers that were the responsibility of the National Assembly for Wales prior to the Government of Wales Act 2006.

National Assembly for Wales

The NAfW is a legislative body, consisting of 60 Assembly Members.   It has the powers to make Acts.  The National Assembly for Wales is also responsible for scrutinising the Welsh Government’s decisions and policies, holding Ministers to account and approving budgets.