A A English | Cymraeg

Policy Council

The Children in Wales Policy Council was established in 2005.  It brings together cross sector representation from each category of the membership of Children in Wales to identify issues, concerns and priorities affecting the children, young people and families sector.  Reporting to the Trustee Board, the Policy Council advises on policies, priorities and the work programmes of Children in Wales.

The Policy Council is comprised of up to 21 representatives elected by a ballot of Children in Wales’ members, up to 10 representatives appointed from organisations with a specific interest or responsibility in relation to services for children, and a number of observers.  All members of the Trustee Board are automatically members of the Policy Council.

Policy Council Members

Dr David Williams (Chair)

Representative Body (appointed, up to 10 members)

Association of Chief Police Officers (ACPO)

Association of Directors of Education in Wales (ADEW) (represented by Pierre Bernhard Grout, WLGA)

Association of Directors for Social Services (ADSS)

NHS Confederation

Public Health Wales (represented by Sarah Jones and Rachel Shaw)

Royal College of Paediatrics & Child Health in Wales (represented by Dr Nia John)

Welsh Local Government Association (WLGA) (represented by Catherine Davies and Stewart Blythe)

Community Volunitary Councils (represented by John Gallanders, AVOW)

Elected Members

Gwilym Roberts, Individual

Deborah Jones, Voices from Care (Cymru)

Des Mannion, NSPCC Cymru

Brigitte Gater, Action for Children - Gweithredu Dros Blant

Uzo Uwobi, Race Council Cymru

Sharon Lovell, NYAS

Mike Greenaway, Play Wales

Rocio Cifuentes, EYST

Gareth Jenkins, Caerphilly County Borough Council

Lindsay Watkins, Millbrook Primary School

Trustee Board members

Professor David Egan

Dr Dave Williams

Emeritus Professor Patrick Thomas

Hannah Williams

Jenny Williams

Ann Shabbaz

Cherrie Bija

Jane Newby

Sarah Crawley

Diane Daniel

Mike Shooter

Bethan Webber


Big Lottery Fund

Children and Family Court Advisory and Support Services (CAFCASS) Cymru

Children’s Commissioner for Wales

Welsh Government

Youth Justice Board