A A English | Cymraeg

Proposals for new map of local authorities, 17/06/15 [W]

A new map has been proposed for  local councils  in Wales, reducing the number from 22 to eight or nine.

The Welsh Government wants to reform local authorities to have a smaller number of councils, so that money can be put into front-line services while savings can be made on administration.

The map is based on pre-1996 arrangements, where there were eight councils.

The proposed new councils are:

  • Gwynedd, Ynys Mon, Conwy
  • Flintshire, Wrexham, Denbighshire
  • Powys
  • Carmarthenshire, Pembrokeshire, Ceredigion
  • Swansea, Neath Port Talbot
  • Bridgend, RCT, Merthyr Tydfil
  • Cardiff, Vale of Glamorgan
  • Caerphilly, Blaenau Gwent, Newport, Monmouth, Torfaen

There could be further consultation on merging Conwy and Denbighshire to create an additional council in north Wales.

You can find out more on the Welsh Government website.