A A English | Cymraeg

New Cabinet Announced, 19/7/07 [W]

The new cabinet following the coalition between the Labour Party and Plaid Cymru was announced on Thursday 19 July 2007. The Ministers of the Welsh Assembly Government and their responsibility are now:


  • First Minister – Rhodri Morgan
  • Deputy First Minister and Minister for Economy and Transport – Ieuan Wyn Jones
  • Minister for Finance and Public Service Delivery – Andrew Davies
  • Minister for Social Justice and Local Government – Brian Gibbons
  • Minister for Education, Children and Young People – Jane Hutt
  • Minister for Rural Affairs- Elin Jones
  • Minister for Health and Social Services – Edwina Hart
  • Minister for Sustainability and Housing – Jane Davidson
  • Minister for Heritage – Rhodri Glyn Thomas
  • Counsel General and Leader of the House also Minister for Assembly Business and Communications – Carwyn Jones

Deputy Ministers

  • Social Services –  Gwenda Thomas
  • Housing  – Jocelyn Davies
  • Skills  – John Griffiths
  • Regeneration  – Leighton Andrews

Carl Sargeant is Chief Whip and attends Cabinet.

More information is available in the Welsh Assembly Government’s press release and on the Welsh Assembly Government website.