A A English | Cymraeg

Cabinet and Deputy Ministers Announced, 31/5/07 [W]

First Minister, Rhodri Morgan announced his new Cabinet on Thursday 31 May 2007. The Cabinet contains seven Ministers, as compared to nine in the last Cabinet. The First Minister also announced the appointments of four Deputy Ministers to support the work of these Ministers.

The Cabinet includes:

First Minister: Rhodri Morgan  – will lead on strategy, science, Europe and Wales in the World.

Minister for Health and Social Services: Edwina Hart – NHS, public health and social services.

Minister for Education, Culture and the Welsh Language: Carwyn Jones – Children and early years; schools; 14-19 year olds; skills; FE; HE; Welsh Language, sport and the arts.

Minister for the Economy and Transport: Dr Brian Gibbons – Economic development; transport and regeneration.

Minister for Sustainability and Rural Development: Jane Davidson – Climate change, sustainable development, environment, agriculture, energy and planning.

Minister for Social Justice and Public Service Delivery: Andrew Davies – Child poverty, housing, public service delivery, local government, the Spatial Plan and community safety.

Minister for Budget and Business: Jane Hutt – Budget, financial planning and control, Assembly business management including legislation.

The four Deputy Ministers appointed are:

Gwenda Thomas Deputy Minister to the Minister for Health and Social   Services  – with special responsibility for Social Services.

Huw Lewis Deputy Minister to the Minister for Economy and Transport  – with special responsibility for regeneration.

Leighton Andrews Deputy Minister for Social Justice and Public Service Delivery  -with special responsibility for housing.

John Griffiths Deputy Minister for Education, Culture and Welsh Language  – with special responsibility for skills.

In addition to these appointments Carl Sargent has been appointed as Chief Whip and Deputy Business Minister.

Comments made by the First Minister about his new Cabinet and the appointment of the Deputy Ministers are available in the following Welsh Assembly Government press releases:

First Minister announces Cabinet for third term
New Deputy Minister’s announced